Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Mask Parade.

I'm sure anyone who lives in Nelson has heard of the mask parade. If you haven't, or don't live in Nelson it's a parade that has schools, kindergartens, music groups, drama groups, and basically anyone who wants to go in it goes in but the groups etc. have to have masks on. There's judges that of course judge the masks and sometimes you get prizes. Last year Nelson Central won the overall prize and the best school prize in the mask parade. This year Nelson Central didn't go in the mask parade because they do it every second year. So Hannah, Evie and I went to go see it. We dressed up in these funky glasses and sparkly hats so some people thought we were part of the mask parade. We didn't really watch most of it because we were to busy going on the ferris wheel (4 times ). It was sooo fun because we stayed till about 9:30 and we had noodles and drinks at Mango (it was soo delicious!) After the mask parade Evie and I went to Hannah's for a sleepover which was really fun because we sprayed her sister with silly string! At the mask parade we saw this gold man (he had agold suit and his hair and face was gold, well everything on him was gold!) and we also saw these two girls dressed in pink swimming togs and tights doing acrobatics and then we saw an 'Alice in  Wonderland group'. I had such a good time I can't wait till next year's mask parade!!!!!!!

Thursday, September 9, 2010

My brothers and I.

My brothers are the most annoying creatures on Earth - we are ALWAYS fighting!
Having one brother would be bad enough but I have two!!! Their names are Pete and Toby. 
Pete: Pete is 7 and has blonde hair and blue eyes and has pale skin like me. He is constantly annoying me by talking in a baby voice and whenever I'm really annoyed he pulls a ginormous  grin as he hits me with a baseball bat. Of course I have to admit that he does bring me bunches of grapes as I lie in hospital recovering, but it is still really annoying that he even thinks it's OK to whack me.......... well that isn't quite true. Even though Pete is so annoying I guess I annoy him too....so maybe we're even.
Toby: Toby is 5 so I can always beat him in fights. I think that's why I like fighting with him - yeah I know, it's weird.

Even though I fight a lot with my brothers I think we all know that we still love each other (cheesy) :)

Thursday, August 26, 2010

MICE!

About a week ago we got some mice! Two of them are females and one a male. After a long time we finally decided on their names - one of the females' name is Inky. The other female is called Oats (my suggestion) and the male is Flip. I brought a cage in, but at Nature Land they keep them in an aquarium so Fiona (the teacher of Room 8) brought in her old aquarium for us to use. We definitely don't want the mice to get bored so each person in the class can make some sort of obstacles for them to play on for our homework. At the moment we've got lots of milk bottle tubes,  houses,  running wheel, shredded paper,  gnawing log and a cardboard pyramid for them in the aquarium and they're probably not going to get bored because there are 25 children to play with them every day. The really exciting thing about them is that we are going to let them breed around twice so we can see how the mouse life cycle works,  but I just want to see the baby mice!  We chose a long haired-male,  short-haired female and a long-haired female so if they breed we'll have different haired mice.  The male is white with brown splotches. The long-haired female is white with black splotches and the other female is completely brown.  I can't wait till they breed and when or if they do I'll give a post about them.

Write a comment 

Bye :) :) :0

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Lemonade Tasting

The other day we tasted the lemonade!
It was delicious, it was so magnificent.  I'm not boasting but I think that Georgie's and mine was the best out of the class because it was so fizzy and it tasted a bit like ginger beer.  Hannah's and Evie's lemonade was nice as well but not so fizzy as ours and Isi's, Joey's and Kezia's was very flat. :) Apparently Luke's tastes like wine so I think that they let theirs ferment too long. Dave said that Rohan O's group's tasted too sweet which I think is impossible because who ever heard of lemonade being too sweet?
Every lunch and playtime we have a glass of  lemonade and it's so nice and fresh when you're sitting in the sun.
We haven't got anymore though because we've had so much of it! IT WAS SO GOOD I really want more so I hope we definitely make lemonade again!

Monday, August 9, 2010

My favourite person

I have a favourite person but I'm not going to tell you who they are, but I'll give you clues and tell you about them....


 First of all she is a female. She is a girly girl and enjoys girly things, such as shopping, baking, going out for dinner etc.
She lives in New York and lives in a rather large apartment near the city centre. She has a giant shoe collection including  high heels, boots, flip flops, sandals, sneakers, ugg boots/slippers and trainers. 
She works at a clothes shop and also designs new outfits. Before she starts work she always goes to DELICIMO. When she gets there she has a coffee with her mates. She also has a delicous cheesecake. 
Most of the time after work, she goes out to dinner - different restaurants all the time. One time she flew over to Italy for dinner! 
Her bed is giant; it nearly takes up half of her bedroom. The bed has a purple velvet duvet and feathery white pillows piled over one another at the head of the bed. She's very particular on treating furniture nicely but she always bounces on her sofas and bed. Speaking of her sofas....
They're amazing because they're magnificantly fluffy with the softest pillows ever. It's orange leather with an orange and white fluffy blanket draped over it and it has white pillows with  black designs on them. 


That's some information about my favourite person


Ooo, I almost forgot, she prefers butter than margarine.
Ella :)

Thursday, August 5, 2010

Lemonade

Lemonade is so delicious but I've only tasted supermarket lemonade and my (disgusting, sticky) home-made lemonade. Our class is making fizzy lemonade and I'm really looking forward to tasting it! First of all you have to squeeze 3 lemons to get the lemon juice. Then you have to pour 1 cup of sugar. You add boiling water in the jug up to 600ml (between 3-2 cups) to dissolve the sugar. Once the sugar has dissolved the sugar you add cold water up to 4 cups. Georgie and I picked a 2L plastic bottle and poured the water and sugar into the bottle. Once it's in the bottle you pour half of your lemon juice in and add 1 quarter of a tsp of yeast into the bottle. Add the rest of the lemon juice and screw on the bottle lid. Whala and it's finished. I can't wait to see the final result but we're not going to leave it too long because it will turn alcoholic, and that wouldn't be good!! :)

I'll give a post on how I thought the lemonade was once it's finished and I've tasted it! 
See Ya! :) :) :)  ;0

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Hey, it was just the school holidays.  All my cousins came down from Wellington - awesome. They're all very cute apart from Joel who is 14 :). We rented a house at St Arnaud which was freezing!!!!   Did you see how many exclamation marks I put?
It was an awesome house though with a stream and tree honey. It was also close to Rainbow Ski Field so we went skiing for two days. Unfortunately only the learners and intermediate slopes were open so I didn't get to go up on the T-bar. We also.....wait for it.....WENT ICE SKATING! It was one of the coolest experiences ever. It was quite scary as well though because I've just been reading 'Little Women' where one of them falls in the pond while ice skating, so that sort of put me off. Once I got on the pond it was really fun and I started to do cross overs, turns and skate backwards. A tree was half frozen in the pond and there was also a 5c coin and a trout frozen in it as well. At the house we rented it was also a bit freaky because there was a grave in the forest close by the house. There was also a river by the house which we saw 2 weka by. It was a great holiday but there was a not so good thing about it - I lost my ipod up at the ski field :(


18.7.10


Yay! My ipod is at the ski field and I'm going to go get it. So that's very very good news!
My other good news is that we went up to the ice skating pond again but it had melted a bit so it wasn't as smooth to skate on and I was even more afraid of going on the ice because it was so thin, but once I got on it was fine - again.


HOLIDAYS = ELLA HAPPY :)


That's it for now....